Abel Julio González (Argentina)

Abel Julio GONZÁLEZ is an Academician with expertise on radiation and nuclear safety. He is plenary Member of the Academy of Sciences of Buenos Aires, the Argentine Academy of Environmental Sciences, the Argentine Academy of the Seas and the International Nuclear Energy Academy.

Currently, he is Senior Advisor of the Argentine Nuclear Regulatory Authority, representative at the United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation, member of the Commission of Safety Standards (CSS) of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the Committee on Radiological Protection and Public Health (CRPPH) of the Nuclear Energy Agency (OECD-NEA).

He has been Vice-chair of the International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP), Vice-President of the International Radiation Protection Association (IRPA), President of the XIIth IRPA Congress, and Director for the IAEA Radiation, Transport and Waste Safety Division over two decades.

At the national level he has hold several positions at the Argentine Atomic Energy Commission, including Manager of its regulatory branch and Member of its Board of Directors and he was also President of the nuclear company ENACE.

He has published around 200 papers on his specialties and managed several relevant international endeavors including the preparation of international conventions and codes of conduct, the development of international standards and the supervision of the international appraisals of the radiological consequences of the Chernobyl and Fukushima accidents and of several nuclear tests sites.

He is honored with several international awards including: the Sievert Prize, the highest international decoration in radiation protection; the IAEA’s Distinguished Service Award and Special Service Award; the Morgan Lecture Award from the Health Physics Society, twice; the the US-NCRP’s 28th Lauriston S. Taylor Lecturer Award; the Marie Curie Prize; the Russian Federation’s Academician Georgyi A. Zedgenidze Decoration, and the Service Recognition Award from the Argentine Government. He also shared the 2005 Nobel Prize granted to the IAEA. He lectures at the World Nuclear University, and at the International School of Nuclear Law.

Main Menu